Hubbie Hussein Al-Haji - Commissioner

Hubbie Hussein Al-Haji - Commissioner

Commissioner Hubbie Hussein Al-Haji is an accomplished Gender and Governance specialist with proven experience in social and institutional development. She holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Developmental Studies from Kimmage Development Studies Centre - Kimmage Manor – Ireland, Diploma in Community Development - from Kenya Institute of Social and Community Development and Animal Health diploma from Egerton University-Kenya.

She brings on board over 27 years’ of experience having worked with various CBO’s, NGO’s, National and County Governments. She has served as a member of the Pay Review Board of the Kenya Armed Forces, a delegate to the Bomas of Kenya Constitutional Review Forum and County Executive Committee Member (CECM) for two departments; Health and Agriculture in Garissa County.

She has strong marginalized communities empowerment skills having been a founder member and former Executive Director of Woman Kind Kenya-a Non-Governmental Organization that targets women, children, and the most vulnerable members of the society.

As an astute advocate for human rights, women, children, persons with disabilities, indigenous, minorities and marginalized communities, she has diligently presented their concerns at both local and international levels with remarkable success. Hubbie has been an active member of the women movement which agitated for affirmative action and women political representation leading to the realization of the Two- Third Gender Principle in Kenya.

She has earned both local and international recognition. In 2010 she received the prestigious award of the Order of the Moran of the Burning Spear (MBS) conferred by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Kenya. The UN Human Rights Office recognized her outstanding performance in Human Rights Advocacy. In 2006, she was awarded the Ralph Stone Memorial Award on women leadership in Washington DC.

She is the chair of the Commission’s Human Resource, Administration and County Coordinators Committee.


© 2013 - 2021 National Land Commission